Porritt Law Firm Home Overview Benefits & Advantages Legal Pointers Forms Schedule an Appointment Contact Us
 

LANDLORDíS DUTIES
Sunday, September 26, 2010

Unlike store owners, Landlords of residential properties are subject to a statutory duty to keep premises in reasonable repair and fit for intended purposes.  That statutory duty imposes liability if Tenants sustain injuries because of the Landlords failure to properly maintain the premises.  While other property owners can defend themselves in slip and fall cases by relying upon an ‘open and obvious’ defense, that defense is not available to Landlords.  A recent case examined whether a Landlord could be liable for injuries sustained in a common area parking lot because of the natural  accumulation of ice and snow.  The Supreme Court found that although the parking lot was part of the premises subject to the Landlord’s duties, one or two inches of snowfall did not render the parking lot ‘unfit’.  The duties owed by property owners can vary widely, depending upon the classification the person entering the premises.  The duties of a Landlord to Tenants can be altered by provisions in a written lease, if the term is at least one year.

Support Information
Saturday, October 23, 2010
HOMEOWNERS DUTIES EXPANDED
Thursday, October 21, 2010
OIL & GAS LEASES
Thursday, October 21, 2010
NEW LANDLORDS
Sunday, October 17, 2010
RECREATIONAL TRESPASS
Saturday, October 16, 2010
LITTORAL OR RIPARIAN
Friday, October 15, 2010
REDUCTION OF HOMESTEAD EXCLUSION
Wednesday, October 6, 2010
ENFORCEMENT OF LAND CONTRACTS
Monday, October 4, 2010
UTILITY EASEMENT COMPELLED OVER DRIVEWAY
Wednesday, September 29, 2010
HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION FOR SECOND HOME
Monday, September 27, 2010
CHANGES IN TITLE INSURANCE
Sunday, September 26, 2010
REDEMPTION PERIODS
Sunday, September 26, 2010
LANDLORDíS DUTIES
Wednesday, September 22, 2010
FALLING VALUES, RISING TAXES
Saturday, September 18, 2010
INADVERTENT UNCAPPING OF PROPERTY TAXES
Friday, September 17, 2010
TRUST FOR MINOR CHILDREN
Thursday, September 16, 2010
JOINT REAL ESTATE DEEDS TO ĎAVOID PROBATEí
Monday, September 13, 2010
CONTENTIOUS CHARITY
Wednesday, September 8, 2010
TRANSFER TAX RELIEF
Monday, September 6, 2010
DESIGNATION OF PATIENT ADVOCATE
Saturday, September 4, 2010
TESTAMENTARY TRUSTS
Thursday, September 2, 2010
USE OF DURABLE POWER OF ATTORNEY FORMS
Sunday, August 29, 2010
TESTAMENTARY TRUST FOR PET CARE
Friday, August 27, 2010
WHAT ARE THE COSTS OF PROBATE
Thursday, August 26, 2010
GUARDIANS & CONSERVATORS
Wednesday, August 25, 2010
FEDERAL RELIEF PROGRAM
Sunday, August 22, 2010
MORTGAGE GUILT FACTOR
Monday, August 16, 2010
TENANTS OF FORECLOSED PROPERTY
Tuesday, August 10, 2010
EFFECT OF FORECLOSURE SALE
Thursday, August 5, 2010
DEEDS IN LIEU OF FORECLOSURE
Thursday, July 22, 2010
PROPERTY ABANDONMENT
Monday, July 19, 2010
SHORT SALE RELIEF FROM UPSIDE DOWN MORTGAGE
Tuesday, June 15, 2010
MANDATORY LOAN MODIFICATIONS
Thursday, June 10, 2010
CITY LIABLE FOR FLOODING
Friday, June 4, 2010
NON-DISCHARGEABLE CREDIT
Friday, June 4, 2010
PROTECTED ASSETS
Friday, June 5, 2009
CHILDíS MARIJUANA RISKS PARENTíS HOME
ENFORCEMENT OF LAND CONTRACTS
GROWING USE OF MEDIATION
HOMEOWNERS DUTIES EXPANDED
LITTORAL OR RIPARIAN
RESPONDING TO THE U.S. CENSUS
Contact Us at: (248) 693-6245    436 S. Broadway, Suite C, Lake Orion, MI 48362                                 © Copyright 2008 James R. Porritt, Jr. All Rights Reserved.
Printer-Friendly Page E-mail to Friend