Porritt Law Firm Home Overview Benefits & Advantages Legal Pointers Forms Schedule an Appointment Contact Us
 

DESIGNATION OF PATIENT ADVOCATE
Monday, September 6, 2010

In the course of preparing important papers occasionally people sign ‘Living Wills’ spelling out the extent and nature of medical treatment they wish to be utilized for their own care under circumstances that prevent them from expressing themselves.  The Michigan legislature has never recognized the validity of such instruments and they are not binding on physicians or facilities.
 
Instead the law allows the Designation of Patient Advocates by the signing of a form by which a second person is given the authority to direct the physicians and hospitals in the event the patient cannot speak for himself.  The statute requires the form to include an acknowledgment by the patient that the exercise of such control could result in the patients death.  It also limits the persons who may serve as the necessary witnesses to the signing of the form.  Newer forms will also grant access to medical records to the advocate.  The statute also allows a sticker to be applied to the back of your drivers license advising that you have made such a form.
 
Before signing such a form I always urge that a heart to heart conversation be held.  The patient needs to be certain that the advocate is both acquainted with the type of medical care desired under particular circumstances and that that advocate has the fortitude to carry out those wishes.

Support Information
Saturday, October 23, 2010
HOMEOWNERS DUTIES EXPANDED
Thursday, October 21, 2010
OIL & GAS LEASES
Thursday, October 21, 2010
NEW LANDLORDS
Sunday, October 17, 2010
RECREATIONAL TRESPASS
Saturday, October 16, 2010
LITTORAL OR RIPARIAN
Friday, October 15, 2010
REDUCTION OF HOMESTEAD EXCLUSION
Wednesday, October 6, 2010
ENFORCEMENT OF LAND CONTRACTS
Monday, October 4, 2010
UTILITY EASEMENT COMPELLED OVER DRIVEWAY
Wednesday, September 29, 2010
HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION FOR SECOND HOME
Monday, September 27, 2010
CHANGES IN TITLE INSURANCE
Sunday, September 26, 2010
REDEMPTION PERIODS
Sunday, September 26, 2010
LANDLORD’S DUTIES
Wednesday, September 22, 2010
FALLING VALUES, RISING TAXES
Saturday, September 18, 2010
INADVERTENT UNCAPPING OF PROPERTY TAXES
Friday, September 17, 2010
TRUST FOR MINOR CHILDREN
Thursday, September 16, 2010
JOINT REAL ESTATE DEEDS TO ‘AVOID PROBATE’
Monday, September 13, 2010
CONTENTIOUS CHARITY
Wednesday, September 8, 2010
TRANSFER TAX RELIEF
Monday, September 6, 2010
DESIGNATION OF PATIENT ADVOCATE
Saturday, September 4, 2010
TESTAMENTARY TRUSTS
Thursday, September 2, 2010
USE OF DURABLE POWER OF ATTORNEY FORMS
Sunday, August 29, 2010
TESTAMENTARY TRUST FOR PET CARE
Friday, August 27, 2010
WHAT ARE THE COSTS OF PROBATE
Thursday, August 26, 2010
GUARDIANS & CONSERVATORS
Wednesday, August 25, 2010
FEDERAL RELIEF PROGRAM
Sunday, August 22, 2010
MORTGAGE GUILT FACTOR
Monday, August 16, 2010
TENANTS OF FORECLOSED PROPERTY
Tuesday, August 10, 2010
EFFECT OF FORECLOSURE SALE
Thursday, August 5, 2010
DEEDS IN LIEU OF FORECLOSURE
Thursday, July 22, 2010
PROPERTY ABANDONMENT
Monday, July 19, 2010
SHORT SALE RELIEF FROM UPSIDE DOWN MORTGAGE
Tuesday, June 15, 2010
MANDATORY LOAN MODIFICATIONS
Thursday, June 10, 2010
CITY LIABLE FOR FLOODING
Friday, June 4, 2010
NON-DISCHARGEABLE CREDIT
Friday, June 4, 2010
PROTECTED ASSETS
Friday, June 5, 2009
CHILD’S MARIJUANA RISKS PARENT’S HOME
ENFORCEMENT OF LAND CONTRACTS
GROWING USE OF MEDIATION
HOMEOWNERS DUTIES EXPANDED
LITTORAL OR RIPARIAN
RESPONDING TO THE U.S. CENSUS
Contact Us at: (248) 693-6245    436 S. Broadway, Suite C, Lake Orion, MI 48362                                 © Copyright 2008 James R. Porritt, Jr. All Rights Reserved.
Printer-Friendly Page E-mail to Friend