Porritt Law Firm Home Overview Benefits & Advantages Legal Pointers Forms Schedule an Appointment Contact Us
 

FEDERAL RELIEF PROGRAM
Wednesday, August 25, 2010

For those having difficulties with their home mortgages federal programs afford relief to those meeting a tight set of threshold requirements.  They are designed to reduce monthly payments to a maximum of 31% of the borrowers monthly income. This is accomplished by either a modification of an existing loan or through a refinance. 
 
On a modification the first avenue is through an extension of the term of the existing mortgage to as long as 40 years.  If that is not sufficient to get the payment to the cap, the second stage is to reduce the annual interest rate to as low as 2%.  Finally, if that is still not enough, the principal balance of the loan may be reduced. 
 
The re-finance program is similarly designed to meet the borrowers income limitations and is limited by the appraised value of the property 105% (although there is talk of increasing this limit).  Details of eligibility can be found at http://makinghomeafordable.gov/.  Also check out the following sites for locating free counseling: http://www.mshda.info/counseling_search/index.jsp; http://www.hopenow.com/ www.nw.org www.mighigan.gov/dhs

Support Information
Saturday, October 23, 2010
HOMEOWNERS DUTIES EXPANDED
Thursday, October 21, 2010
OIL & GAS LEASES
Thursday, October 21, 2010
NEW LANDLORDS
Sunday, October 17, 2010
RECREATIONAL TRESPASS
Saturday, October 16, 2010
LITTORAL OR RIPARIAN
Friday, October 15, 2010
REDUCTION OF HOMESTEAD EXCLUSION
Wednesday, October 6, 2010
ENFORCEMENT OF LAND CONTRACTS
Monday, October 4, 2010
UTILITY EASEMENT COMPELLED OVER DRIVEWAY
Wednesday, September 29, 2010
HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION FOR SECOND HOME
Monday, September 27, 2010
CHANGES IN TITLE INSURANCE
Sunday, September 26, 2010
REDEMPTION PERIODS
Sunday, September 26, 2010
LANDLORDíS DUTIES
Wednesday, September 22, 2010
FALLING VALUES, RISING TAXES
Saturday, September 18, 2010
INADVERTENT UNCAPPING OF PROPERTY TAXES
Friday, September 17, 2010
TRUST FOR MINOR CHILDREN
Thursday, September 16, 2010
JOINT REAL ESTATE DEEDS TO ĎAVOID PROBATEí
Monday, September 13, 2010
CONTENTIOUS CHARITY
Wednesday, September 8, 2010
TRANSFER TAX RELIEF
Monday, September 6, 2010
DESIGNATION OF PATIENT ADVOCATE
Saturday, September 4, 2010
TESTAMENTARY TRUSTS
Thursday, September 2, 2010
USE OF DURABLE POWER OF ATTORNEY FORMS
Sunday, August 29, 2010
TESTAMENTARY TRUST FOR PET CARE
Friday, August 27, 2010
WHAT ARE THE COSTS OF PROBATE
Thursday, August 26, 2010
GUARDIANS & CONSERVATORS
Wednesday, August 25, 2010
FEDERAL RELIEF PROGRAM
Sunday, August 22, 2010
MORTGAGE GUILT FACTOR
Monday, August 16, 2010
TENANTS OF FORECLOSED PROPERTY
Tuesday, August 10, 2010
EFFECT OF FORECLOSURE SALE
Thursday, August 5, 2010
DEEDS IN LIEU OF FORECLOSURE
Thursday, July 22, 2010
PROPERTY ABANDONMENT
Monday, July 19, 2010
SHORT SALE RELIEF FROM UPSIDE DOWN MORTGAGE
Tuesday, June 15, 2010
MANDATORY LOAN MODIFICATIONS
Thursday, June 10, 2010
CITY LIABLE FOR FLOODING
Friday, June 4, 2010
NON-DISCHARGEABLE CREDIT
Friday, June 4, 2010
PROTECTED ASSETS
Friday, June 5, 2009
CHILDíS MARIJUANA RISKS PARENTíS HOME
ENFORCEMENT OF LAND CONTRACTS
GROWING USE OF MEDIATION
HOMEOWNERS DUTIES EXPANDED
LITTORAL OR RIPARIAN
RESPONDING TO THE U.S. CENSUS
Contact Us at: (248) 693-6245    436 S. Broadway, Suite C, Lake Orion, MI 48362                                 © Copyright 2008 James R. Porritt, Jr. All Rights Reserved.
Printer-Friendly Page E-mail to Friend