Porritt Law Firm Home Overview Benefits & Advantages Legal Pointers Forms Schedule an Appointment Contact Us
 

PROPERTY ABANDONMENT
Thursday, July 22, 2010

We are hearing more frequently tales of mortgage lenders or their agents trying to shorten foreclosure redemption periods.  In some instances locks are being drilled out and replaced before redemption periods have expired.  Such activities interfere with good faith efforts by homeowners to sell their properties, since prospective buyers cannot gain access.
 
A recent Court of Appeals case allowed a borrower’s challenge to a presumption of abandonment where the mortgage lender swore in an affidavit that a notice of abandonment had been posted on the front door of the house.  Actually the house on the property had been demolished for some time prior to the alleged posting.  The court found that there was a genuine issue of fact as to whether the lender had actually followed the statutory procedures.
 
Property owners and their agents must pay close attention to the notices posted on the property or sent to them.  There is a different type of response the owners must provide depending on whether the notice of abandonment is posted before or after a foreclosure has been started.
 
Michigan’s redemption period is either 6 months or 1 year from the date of sale, depending on whether the property is less or more than 3 acres.  A presumption of abandonment allows that period to be reduced to 30 days.

Support Information
Saturday, October 23, 2010
HOMEOWNERS DUTIES EXPANDED
Thursday, October 21, 2010
OIL & GAS LEASES
Thursday, October 21, 2010
NEW LANDLORDS
Sunday, October 17, 2010
RECREATIONAL TRESPASS
Saturday, October 16, 2010
LITTORAL OR RIPARIAN
Friday, October 15, 2010
REDUCTION OF HOMESTEAD EXCLUSION
Wednesday, October 6, 2010
ENFORCEMENT OF LAND CONTRACTS
Monday, October 4, 2010
UTILITY EASEMENT COMPELLED OVER DRIVEWAY
Wednesday, September 29, 2010
HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION FOR SECOND HOME
Monday, September 27, 2010
CHANGES IN TITLE INSURANCE
Sunday, September 26, 2010
REDEMPTION PERIODS
Sunday, September 26, 2010
LANDLORD’S DUTIES
Wednesday, September 22, 2010
FALLING VALUES, RISING TAXES
Saturday, September 18, 2010
INADVERTENT UNCAPPING OF PROPERTY TAXES
Friday, September 17, 2010
TRUST FOR MINOR CHILDREN
Thursday, September 16, 2010
JOINT REAL ESTATE DEEDS TO ‘AVOID PROBATE’
Monday, September 13, 2010
CONTENTIOUS CHARITY
Wednesday, September 8, 2010
TRANSFER TAX RELIEF
Monday, September 6, 2010
DESIGNATION OF PATIENT ADVOCATE
Saturday, September 4, 2010
TESTAMENTARY TRUSTS
Thursday, September 2, 2010
USE OF DURABLE POWER OF ATTORNEY FORMS
Sunday, August 29, 2010
TESTAMENTARY TRUST FOR PET CARE
Friday, August 27, 2010
WHAT ARE THE COSTS OF PROBATE
Thursday, August 26, 2010
GUARDIANS & CONSERVATORS
Wednesday, August 25, 2010
FEDERAL RELIEF PROGRAM
Sunday, August 22, 2010
MORTGAGE GUILT FACTOR
Monday, August 16, 2010
TENANTS OF FORECLOSED PROPERTY
Tuesday, August 10, 2010
EFFECT OF FORECLOSURE SALE
Thursday, August 5, 2010
DEEDS IN LIEU OF FORECLOSURE
Thursday, July 22, 2010
PROPERTY ABANDONMENT
Monday, July 19, 2010
SHORT SALE RELIEF FROM UPSIDE DOWN MORTGAGE
Tuesday, June 15, 2010
MANDATORY LOAN MODIFICATIONS
Thursday, June 10, 2010
CITY LIABLE FOR FLOODING
Friday, June 4, 2010
NON-DISCHARGEABLE CREDIT
Friday, June 4, 2010
PROTECTED ASSETS
Friday, June 5, 2009
CHILD’S MARIJUANA RISKS PARENT’S HOME
ENFORCEMENT OF LAND CONTRACTS
GROWING USE OF MEDIATION
HOMEOWNERS DUTIES EXPANDED
LITTORAL OR RIPARIAN
RESPONDING TO THE U.S. CENSUS
Contact Us at: (248) 693-6245    436 S. Broadway, Suite C, Lake Orion, MI 48362                                 © Copyright 2008 James R. Porritt, Jr. All Rights Reserved.
Printer-Friendly Page E-mail to Friend