Porritt Law Firm Home Overview Benefits & Advantages Legal Pointers Forms Schedule an Appointment Contact Us
 

MANDATORY LOAN MODIFICATIONS
Tuesday, June 15, 2010

The rules governing the processes for those seeking relief from the burden of mortgage loan financing are constantly changing.  The newest twist added by well intentioned officials will once again make it more difficult for those hoping to have an approval of a short sale.  Before a short sale will be considered, the seller will have to apply and be rejected for a loan modification.  The problem that presents as a practical matter is that the application process can take two to four months from the time the application is ‘posted’ by the mortgage server. 
 
These rules govern the Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac mortgages. The first problem is that many homeowners do not know that their mortgage is part of one of those portfolios of loans that are government supported.Their server may be Countrywide, Bank of America, Citi Mortgage, Wells Fargo, WaMu or others and still, the underlying ‘lender’ can be government supported.  The process of making application for the modification is greatly improved through the use of a certified mortgage counselor.  Their assistance is without charge, but recent experience is a 6 week delay in getting in to see them.  It is for this reason that it is imperative that if you are having any trouble at all, or see the approach of troubling finances, get in to see a counselor as soon as possible.

Support Information
Saturday, October 23, 2010
HOMEOWNERS DUTIES EXPANDED
Thursday, October 21, 2010
OIL & GAS LEASES
Thursday, October 21, 2010
NEW LANDLORDS
Sunday, October 17, 2010
RECREATIONAL TRESPASS
Saturday, October 16, 2010
LITTORAL OR RIPARIAN
Friday, October 15, 2010
REDUCTION OF HOMESTEAD EXCLUSION
Wednesday, October 6, 2010
ENFORCEMENT OF LAND CONTRACTS
Monday, October 4, 2010
UTILITY EASEMENT COMPELLED OVER DRIVEWAY
Wednesday, September 29, 2010
HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION FOR SECOND HOME
Monday, September 27, 2010
CHANGES IN TITLE INSURANCE
Sunday, September 26, 2010
REDEMPTION PERIODS
Sunday, September 26, 2010
LANDLORD’S DUTIES
Wednesday, September 22, 2010
FALLING VALUES, RISING TAXES
Saturday, September 18, 2010
INADVERTENT UNCAPPING OF PROPERTY TAXES
Friday, September 17, 2010
TRUST FOR MINOR CHILDREN
Thursday, September 16, 2010
JOINT REAL ESTATE DEEDS TO ‘AVOID PROBATE’
Monday, September 13, 2010
CONTENTIOUS CHARITY
Wednesday, September 8, 2010
TRANSFER TAX RELIEF
Monday, September 6, 2010
DESIGNATION OF PATIENT ADVOCATE
Saturday, September 4, 2010
TESTAMENTARY TRUSTS
Thursday, September 2, 2010
USE OF DURABLE POWER OF ATTORNEY FORMS
Sunday, August 29, 2010
TESTAMENTARY TRUST FOR PET CARE
Friday, August 27, 2010
WHAT ARE THE COSTS OF PROBATE
Thursday, August 26, 2010
GUARDIANS & CONSERVATORS
Wednesday, August 25, 2010
FEDERAL RELIEF PROGRAM
Sunday, August 22, 2010
MORTGAGE GUILT FACTOR
Monday, August 16, 2010
TENANTS OF FORECLOSED PROPERTY
Tuesday, August 10, 2010
EFFECT OF FORECLOSURE SALE
Thursday, August 5, 2010
DEEDS IN LIEU OF FORECLOSURE
Thursday, July 22, 2010
PROPERTY ABANDONMENT
Monday, July 19, 2010
SHORT SALE RELIEF FROM UPSIDE DOWN MORTGAGE
Tuesday, June 15, 2010
MANDATORY LOAN MODIFICATIONS
Thursday, June 10, 2010
CITY LIABLE FOR FLOODING
Friday, June 4, 2010
NON-DISCHARGEABLE CREDIT
Friday, June 4, 2010
PROTECTED ASSETS
Friday, June 5, 2009
CHILD’S MARIJUANA RISKS PARENT’S HOME
ENFORCEMENT OF LAND CONTRACTS
GROWING USE OF MEDIATION
HOMEOWNERS DUTIES EXPANDED
LITTORAL OR RIPARIAN
RESPONDING TO THE U.S. CENSUS
Contact Us at: (248) 693-6245    436 S. Broadway, Suite C, Lake Orion, MI 48362                                 © Copyright 2008 James R. Porritt, Jr. All Rights Reserved.
Printer-Friendly Page E-mail to Friend